Too Scared to Not Hustle

Poppa K (my fairy godfather) sent me the movie “Too Big to Fail.” So I watched it while working on my side hustle. The movie was so confusing I watched it twice. I mean I was already confused when we were in the midst of the financial crisis. But watching the movie I learned a little, got some clarification on what really happened. But this movie actually scared me more because behind the scenes we were actually more screwed than we all thought or knew.

Common knowledge I grew up in a low income household. No pity party. I never missed a meal or didn’t have clothes on my back or sneakers that didn’t fit. But with that upbringing I ALWAYS feel like I am one paycheck away from being back in the projects. Consciously I know that the odds of me ever returning to the projects are about the same odds of me winning the lottery. But my subconscious is out to protect me and never ever lets me believe that I am “safe.”

I am super career driven (also common knowledge) and no matter how high I climb I never let myself believe that what I’m making is enough or that I’m secure. (I don’t believe in that term “job security” anymore.) So I always side hustle because it is my security blanket. Could I ever fully live off my side hustle? No. And I know that consciously and subconsciously. But knowing that some income is always coming in from somewhere helps me to sleep at night.

Professionally, I’m at a point in my career where I really don’t need to work more than one job. That’s the point of going to college and earning higher degrees of education, so you don’t have to work more or so hard or for so long as everyone else that doesn’t have a degree. And for about six months I didn’t work any side hustles. I just worked my main job and worked hard at it. But my subconscious was nagging me. “Bitch, what are you doing?,” it would scream at me. And when it was trying to manipulate me it would say, “No job will ever utilize all your talents…that’s why you need a side hustle.”

But maybe my subconscious is right. If I learned nothing else from the movie “Too Big to Fail” I at least learned that when the principal of survival of the fittest hit our banking system it made the banks that survived even stronger and even bigger. Meaning the next time a financial crisis hits they are now really too big to fail. And I don’t know about you, but I need my piggy bank to be ready.

Have you checked your piggy bank lately?  Might be time to consider turning a hobby in to a hustle.

Leave a comment